Questions:

Discussion about Legend of Krystal. For now this also includes any feature-requests or other ideas.

Questions:

Postby Thaedael » Wed Jul 14, 2010 7:47 am

Hello everyone, I am brand new to these forums.
Normally I say very little, if anything at all but today I will break this silence and come out with questions I have concerning the project. I come form a very specialized background of game development, and while I have seen and directly helped make games come to fruition I have actually never done any coding, bar a few simple macro-media flash exercises back in grade seven of high school. I am actually a spriter, a person that makes the graphics for games, not professionally but from a passionate hobby point of view.

I am not really interested in Legend of Krystal, truth be told while I have no real experience programming, I have lots of experience working with programmers, and I can tell when not to get in the way of someone, especially when a program becomes this popular. However I would like to contribute to the possible development of Peach's story, whether as an off-shoot stand a lone game, or as an explorable part in one of the future releases of Legend of Krystal.

Questions I have:
I know that people do not find sprites (talking old school pixels here) arousing at all, unless the size of the sprite is large enough to show enough detail. Since drafting sprites that large would just be ridiculous, when a tablet drawn graphic would suffice and be less time consuming. My question comes from one of the comments from the peach concept thread. If you were to make small sprite graphics for over world/game world interactions (IE: walking around talking to npc's) would the game actually run faster as less complicated models are being manipulated? If so would it be a fair trade off, so the game would be more smooth until you got to the cut scenes which would be done in usual playshapes' style and resolution?