Remaking Sim Brothel: Fix the typos, fix the bugs.

The place to post Flash-based creative projects.
Forum rules
This forum is for posting and collaborating upon third party Flash work. Please do not post request-threads, and avoid posting artwork that is not your own unless it is being used as a reference.

Remaking Sim Brothel: Fix the typos, fix the bugs.

Postby IxFa » Thu Feb 12, 2015 10:18 pm

Seeing the new Brothel Sim being made by miesmike(http://www.legendofkrystal.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=4421) made me want to play the old one that I'm sure many people remember.
The old one is so littered with bugs and typos though!
So I figured I'd use this as an excuse to try learning Flash. What could be easier than remaking an old management game?..
I suspect eventually meismike's sim will be better than my shot at a remake could ever be, but I liked the classic. Anyone else in favor of this?

Small problem: I'm very new to this. I can't find an FLA of the original or expanded, so I can't look at how that works and just start fixing mistakes and seeing the script. I actually have to learn this stuff.
But I took Visual Basic 1 and 2 in high school and scored above 100% in both, due to perfect grades and extra credit. Clearly I have potential.

I have downloaded and installed Adobe Flash CC 2014 with a 30-day trial. I will honestly try figuring this stuff out everyday for this 30-day-trial. After that, I could pay the sub fee of $20 a month, or find some other way, or if I just don't get this stuff then I suppose I stop after the month trial ends. Does anyone have any tips that may specifically help with remaking Sim Brothel?

My plans with this:

I was looking at the other Sim Brothels, and many seem to be such a hassle for a user to play. So many downloads, so many registrations and set-ups(Such as each girl being an separate download). It'd be nice if someone could just click "Sim Brothel" and start playing, so I want to make something that works like that.