Starling Game Engine help

A place for tutorials on how to get the most out of Flash

Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 7:47 am

Iv been talking to OwnerOfSuccuby and they pointed this engine out to me I'm having issues with Starling I'll link it down below but can some one break this down cause the 2 ways I found out to install it one I can't understand and the reading part just confuse me.


Starling: http://gamua.com/starling/
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby ANooB » Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:35 pm

This guy, Hemanth Sharma, probably gives the best tutorial on the installation and use of Starling.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTvhZ8wbJaQ

If you still have issues post where you're stuck at and I'll help. I've managed to get it up and running in the past.
Spruce your games up using free vector content: viewtopic.php?f=45&t=7109

There're no such things as mistakes, just happy little accidents. ~Bob Ross
User avatar
ANooB
 
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:58 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:16 am

ANooB Wrote:This guy, Hemanth Sharma, probably gives the best tutorial on the installation and use of Starling.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTvhZ8wbJaQ

If you still have issues post where you're stuck at and I'll help. I've managed to get it up and running in the past.


Ya I know this video but he makes it sound like I NEED the Flash builder witch sucks cause the game I'm making will need it longer then the 30 day trial and I can't really throw more money at adobe.
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:17 am

So before I black out for the night I did find some "help" I guess you can call it that I did more digging on Adobe web page I'm posting what I found here. Top ling will take you to the first couple deals Starling is on the list here. The next link will take you to the First Steps to Starling. Last on is adding Flash Player 11 Support to Flash pro 5.5 I honestly don't think you need the last one but I don't really know. Please PM me if any one can dumb this down to simple black and white....like Flie A go into Flie B or Step one do something. Step Two do something else.


http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flashplayer/stage3d.html
http://gamua.com/starling/first-steps/#
http://blogs.adobe.com/rgalvan/2011/11/ ... cs5-5.html
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby ANooB » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:27 am

I got it running on flash develop, which is free. It's real easy, just look at the way Flash Develop organizes your files, You'll see the project directory entitled "src". Just find that same labeled folder in the files that were downloaded from the Starling website. Then drag that src folder onto the one in Flash Develop IDE so it will merge the file contents. Once that is done, you'll be able to start accessing the classes and display objects, but in order for your player to run, you need the flex SDK files. Lemme know if you need help with that part. But once you get those 2 things set up, you need to initiate Starling in your main class, then just start adding display objects to that new stage.
Spruce your games up using free vector content: viewtopic.php?f=45&t=7109

There're no such things as mistakes, just happy little accidents. ~Bob Ross
User avatar
ANooB
 
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:58 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Mon Oct 24, 2016 7:47 am

good to know
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby OwnerOfSuccuby » Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:38 pm

Hi - Do you use adobe animate CC or what program ?

If so it is simple - first download flash sdk:
http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flex/flex-sdk-download.html

Then download starling:
http://gamua.com/starling/download/

Unzip install bla bla bla - on some folder for example Flex sdk to D/Flex
Starling on D/Starling

Then go to Action script settingth in first menu (File).

Chose in first menu of file->action script settingth -> your folder of starling im my situation it is:

You need dragon bones by the way - you could not make porn game in starling with out bones structure. (Dragon bone like free sample example).

http://dragonbones.com/en/download.html - download here and connect as on image like staling.

To start it you will need some thing like this:

When you first start example it say you do not have flex connected - chose the way to flex there and all will work.

If it will be some questions ask.

On example i test how to change colors of Tail - using image and code =) If it will not work - then you did not download starling or dragon bones ;)
User avatar
OwnerOfSuccuby
 
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:14 pm

OwnerOfSuccuby Wrote:Hi - Do you use adobe animate CC or what program ?

If so it is simple - first download flash sdk:
http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flex/flex-sdk-download.html

Then download starling:
http://gamua.com/starling/download/

Unzip install bla bla bla - on some folder for example Flex sdk to D/Flex
Starling on D/Starling

Then go to Action script settingth in first menu (File).

Chose in first menu of file->action script settingth -> your folder of starling im my situation it is:

You need dragon bones by the way - you could not make porn game in starling with out bones structure. (Dragon bone like free sample example).

http://dragonbones.com/en/download.html - download here and connect as on image like staling.

To start it you will need some thing like this:

When you first start example it say you do not have flex connected - chose the way to flex there and all will work.

If it will be some questions ask.

On example i test how to change colors of Tail - using image and code =) If it will not work - then you did not download starling or dragon bones ;)


I use adobe animated you wanted me to use that starling program because my test file I let you see lagged.
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby OwnerOfSuccuby » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:40 pm

Not correctly a little - i say that if you will use a lot of objects it will ;)
User avatar
OwnerOfSuccuby
 
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:28 am

OwnerOfSuccuby Wrote:Not correctly a little - i say that if you will use a lot of objects it will ;)



Well once i get that flash devlop thing done I'll let you know.
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:25 am

So Program I'm using Adobe Animate I'm starting to get to the levels of mad that I haven't been at in years so all these hoops I'm jumping threw for starling is starting to annoy me to danger levles of mad
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:51 am

So this is what's going donw I found out that the Flex SDK only works for Flash Developer so that mains I got to back track and download flash Developer and recode the game I have using flash builder and Dragon bones and starling just to use make the game less laggy and what not....*Sighs* And yes my annoyed levels gave me a headache that makes a bomb going off sound like a cat sneeze.
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby OwnerOfSuccuby » Wed Oct 26, 2016 5:16 pm

I work with Flex SDK with out it - and using starling as well with dragon bones.

Why do not it works in AnimateCC ? All works or i am dreaming now :lol: :mrgreen: ;)
User avatar
OwnerOfSuccuby
 
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:30 pm

Okay so I got Flex too work...I think plus starling the only issues I beleve over light digging is Dragonbones I'm trying to figure out the issues cause I'm getting a error for StarlingFactory so while I talk to some one who got all this stuff working I'll try figuring it out when I can
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby OwnerOfSuccuby » Sat Oct 29, 2016 3:33 pm

I think that if it can not find the starling factory you show wrong pass for starling in action script settingth.
User avatar
OwnerOfSuccuby
 
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:29 am

So the Starling had a .SWD I didn't know that I put that on still have the same 7 issues StarlingFactor over and over.
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby OwnerOfSuccuby » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:42 am

Starling is the storage library. Flash do not know about it - it is some shit for him that it does not understand.
What factory omg - i do not know any factory he thinks. So you need to show the pass to this starling directly or import all classes from starling.

The simplest way is to make like i made on screen shot.

Show the way to it it is on D:\STARLING\starling\src - or some thing like that.

Where in D:\STARLING is unzipped folder of what you downloaded. The license.md file - samples and etc are all there.
User avatar
OwnerOfSuccuby
 
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Mon Oct 31, 2016 8:43 pm

Okay I'm linking a post I made on the starling fourms I asked them for help and hope they can help. I'm going to walk away slowly from my computer and not do anything tell I get a clean easy way to get that test file Succuby sent me to work.

http://forum.starling-framework.org/top ... nd-animate
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 7:48 pm

So having a friend talk me threw the install process I only got one error from the 2LoK file on this forum list a Action Script file for texture it was the only thing missing from the file.
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am

Re: Starling Game Engine help

Postby hat973 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 12:25 am

So this is how I got the Programs to work (Some what):

Starling

http://tinyurl.com/jcughq3

If your using adobe animate just make sure your up to date on AIR SDK.

You will only need Starling from the GitHub Master File and the download from the main page. Then open up a New or Old File I used 2LoK file on this form given to us by OwnerOfSuccuby.

Go to File>Action script Settings. You are now in the Advance Action Script window in here you will see 3 tabs Source path, Library path,and Config Constants.

To start we will get starling put together in the Source path Tab click the + and make sure this new file that pops up is highlighted then click the Folder next to the - button and go to where you have unpacked the Starling Master Folder and the Starling Engine folder. Go to your Master File first you will see a file marked starling and then 4 files will pop up bin, build, doc, and src. You want the src file just highlight it and select open folder and boom we got Starling Master up.

Now for the engine go to your Library path Tab and click the + make sure this new file is highlighted and click the Icon with the f called Browse to SWC file then go into the Starling Engine file then go into the starling file that inside and you will find 4 folders like in the master file but you want to go into the bin folder and you'll find the SWC file for starling highlight it and hit open and you now have the starling engine up and running.

Dragon Bones


http://tinyurl.com/hnbnx98

For Dragon bones you want to download there Program and install it. It basically has the has a plug in that will hook up to your animate once it's done.
Then you want the DragonBones AS Master file it will me marked ActionScript 3 on the support it's right under DragonBones Runtimes.

After you downloaded the AS Master file go into Animate and click File>ActionScript settings and the Source path tab and + make sure the new file is highlighted then click the Folder icon - button.

Go to where you unpacked the DragonBones AS Master file then you want to go in the file marked DragonBones then highlight the src and hit Open file.

You have now got DragonBones Support for your animate.

AIR.SDK

http://tinyurl.com/6sywmrm

For AIR.SDK to see if you up to date on your AIR.SDK in Animate go to Help>Mange Adobe AIR SDK a window will open and you should see one AIR already install the one in mine was 21.0 in the Version part of this window. You want to install the latest version of AIR with the Compiler.

After the download is done unpack the zip that was download where you want just make sure it's easy to find later and you might want to make a new folder just for it since it doesn't make one after it's unpacked. While still in the Manger for Adobe AIR SDK you want to click the + button and make your way to where you unpacked the folder you don't need to go into the folder.

If you made a brand new folder to hold all the files that was in the AIR zip you can just highlight the whole file and hit the Select Folder and it will pop up in your manger with the current versions # next at this time it was 23.0.

Where done here.

The only error that popped up for me was a Textur.AS file was missing. All that I posted here in this long thing is what I did with my friend he talked me threw it and pointed out things.
Red light panda

:ugeek: Tumbler: Tumbler
:geek: I have a Blog: Red Light Blog
;) I stream to Give me a Watch over at: Picarto
:mrgreen: Donate: Patreon
:roll: Discord:Discord
User avatar
hat973
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:44 am


Return to Tutorials



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users