Slightly More Qualified Beginner Here!

A place for tutorials on how to get the most out of Flash

Slightly More Qualified Beginner Here!

Postby Artificer » Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:54 pm

Hey, everyone. I've been a lurker for the past year and a half or so, debating on whether or not I wanted to get involved.

Finally decided to get involved. I come with offerings!

Spoiler (click to show/hide):

MannequinDemo.jpg
"Offering" Here.
MannequinDemo.jpg (7.78 KiB) Viewed 2487 times

I got that done in a little more than 2 hours last night, and it was my first real attempt at Flash CC. It's pretty similar to the basic Playshapes mannequin you all have been using, except the torso is split into upper and lower parts, giving it a tad more flexibility. Forgot to give it a movable jaw, though. I haven't tried animating it yet, but it's certainly pose-able.

MannequinDemo2.jpg
Different pose of original "offering."
MannequinDemo2.jpg (7.38 KiB) Viewed 2487 times

I'm an art student with experience in traditional art and comics, so I'm reasonably good at drawing- even if I'm still getting the hang of Vector-based stuff. I can also write, and I'm particularly good at writing dialogue and scripts. However, on the topic of scripts, even though I've got some very basic programming experience, I haven't done so much as even glance at ActionScript yet.

As a Game Design student, I figured I'm probably going to have to re-learn Flash eventually, and thought I'd get a headstart here. In my time as a lurker, I've been very impressed at how friendly, open, and genuinely artistic the LoK bunch was. I've got a lot to learn, and this looks like a fun environment to learn in.

So hello, world.