Starling Framework

A place for tutorials on how to get the most out of Flash

Starling Framework

Postby Terrantor!!! » Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:23 am

Hey, everyone. I've been interested in making the jump up to starling for a while and was wondering how I would be able to get started. I'm currently running flash cs6 and can't seem to find any instructions in regards to this version. Is this because cs6 is already designed to run flash player 11 and I should have no trouble importing and running starling APIs? Also, there's this business with flex framework and adobe AIR that I can't quite process. Any help would be terrific as I'm mainly an animator and want to take advantage of DragonBones.
Terrantor!!!

Re: Starling Framework

Postby inkhryptedQuery » Sat Aug 02, 2014 6:12 pm

This could just be my ignorance of animation, tools, or art in general, but how is DragonBones different from just using the native bone tool?
inkhryptedQuery

Postby Terrantor!!! » Tue Aug 05, 2014 5:10 am

The bone tool is cool, but has limitations. For one you can't scale or skew individual clips. Also dragonbones is less processor intensive. So you can store the visual and tween data in a small image file that flash pre-compiles. So you can literally create instance upon instance of an object without hurting your framerate and it has a more user friendly animation control API.
Terrantor!!!

Postby inkhryptedQuery » Tue Aug 05, 2014 6:39 pm

Nice!

I've tried using the bone tool myself and ran into some difficulty .. I thought it was just a lack of experience with the design side of CS6
inkhryptedQuery

Postby Terrantor!!! » Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:05 am

inkhryptedQuery Wrote:Nice!

I've tried using the bone tool myself and ran into some difficulty .. I thought it was just a lack of experience with the design side of CS6