Anatomy Help?

A place for tutorials on how to get the most out of Flash

Anatomy Help?

Postby Clairite » Thu Nov 28, 2013 7:27 am

So. I've decided to put myself in the spotlight and ask for help drawing figures in flash. I've used the circle method and this is what I've got so far.

Spoiler (click to show/hide):

figure_attempt.jpg
figure_attempt.jpg (22.56 KiB) Viewed 2077 times

I honestly have no idea what I should do from here, and being a total beginner in flash isn't helping.
Clairite

Re: Anatomy Help?

Postby Terrantor!!! » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:38 am

U are definitely gonna wanna combine the black select tool with your shape tool. This will allow you to kinda sculpt out ur form. A few technicals u May or may not know are the difference between strokes(lines) and fills, the shapes that they embody. If I were u, I'd play around a little with the two tools, learn their hot keys to get a little faster at production. Keep ur fingers on the control or alt key while using them to test and learn their alternate utilities. A cool technique u can use is treating ur strokes like cookie cutters for fills.

I'd make a shape, modify it's line, and reiterate it's value by passing more shapes through it. Select ur fill tool and start giving it color. When u are done, double click ur strokes and delete. U will soon get good enough to use the pen tool wich is time consuming but way more accurate.
Terrantor!!!

Postby Clairite » Fri Nov 29, 2013 8:18 am

Managed to make a face. Don't really like how the eyes nose and mouth turned out, meaning I don't like it all around. Still, good to have a starting off point to work on and have critiqued.

lady_attempt.jpg
lady_attempt.jpg (21.6 KiB) Viewed 2042 times
Clairite

Postby Terrantor!!! » Fri Nov 29, 2013 10:27 pm