help?

A place for tutorials on how to get the most out of Flash

help?

Postby Challenger47 » Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:13 pm

Ok, so I'm starting out small and just playing with RPG maker VX ace, I am really new to this and suck horridly. Basically i'm just looking for someone to kind of mentor me so to speak in this program. I have been a silent lurker for a long time and now i want to give back to the community in anyway I can; so i figure ill make a game with original art and hopefully a good story line. But as i said I am not very good yet programming even in this "dumbed down" form confuses me. Some things im working on right now and getting very stump on are.

1. Switches i just cant get them to work.
2. Cutscenes ( I have tried using auto run but it just freezes after and the PC cant move)
3. Intros.
4. making of normal and fetch quests.
5. Scaling ( from items and weapons to enemy battles)
6. Adding icons to the weapon icon tray.

That's the short list as I imagine the more I do the more will come up. the most complicated thing I have made is a chest that has a three character conversation and two branch both of which change PC level and class on completion of the branch, They also both but a weapon I made in the players inventory. So in short please help I would love to get up to a better level in programming so i can help make better games and move things along on here, I may not be very good now but What I have is time.
Challenger47

Re: help?

Postby moonblack » Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:34 pm

1) Exactly what is the problem? "just cant get them to work" is not very informative
2) An autorun event is an event that keeps repeating for as long as the conditions are met. If there are no conditions it'll repeat forever. You can stop it from repeating in three ways:
- put an Erase Event command at the end - the event will run once every time you visit that particular map