Request: Variable-based nested movieClip control

A place for tutorials on how to get the most out of Flash

Request: Variable-based nested movieClip control

Postby TedFallenger » Tue May 29, 2012 4:49 am

I'm trying to come up with a bit of script that will allow me to control the skin color of a character from the root using a variable, allowing that variable to be accessed for use on other characters.

Skin color choice is being dictated by a movie clip with several frames, each a different color, which is being used as an overlay on the body parts of the characters.

I'm new to Actionscript though I've been using Flash for quite some time. I'm using AS2 as I believe it is simpler for non-code-adept people like myself to understand.
TedFallenger

Re: Request: Variable-based nested movieClip control

Postby BlueLight » Tue May 29, 2012 5:15 am

viewtopic.php?f=29&t=2286 this i believe has a solution but i'm not sure if it's the one you want.

Also RAWR, me da AS3 Nazi!
BlueLight
Gangs n' Whores Developer

Postby TedFallenger » Tue May 29, 2012 7:50 am

Thanks, Blue, but I've seen that thread and, as I mentioned, I'm doing this in AS2.
TedFallenger

Postby BlueLight » Tue May 29, 2012 8:17 am

I thought bob used as2
BlueLight
Gangs n' Whores Developer

Postby OwnerOfSuccuby » Tue May 29, 2012 11:03 am

TedFallenger Wrote:I'm trying to come up with a bit of script that will allow me to control the skin color of a character from the root using a variable, allowing that variable to be accessed for use on other characters.

Skin color choice is being dictated by a movie clip with several frames, each a different color, which is being used as an overlay on the body parts of the characters.

I'm new to Actionscript though I've been using Flash for quite some time. I'm using AS2 as I believe it is simpler for non-code-adept people like myself to understand.

Hi !

First read this one: http://www.kirupa.com/developer/actionscript/color.htm
Then: